What is our Symposium “morning time”

There are so many inspiring parents out there whom have Morning Time or Symposium or Morning Basket and golly, it’s so lovely and feels SO unattainable to me. But I’m not one to give up on lovely, instead I’m all about finding what works best for my family.

Guess what? Sometimes our day starts with Pumpkins lessons. Sometimes it starts with a show. Sometimes our family “morning time” doesn’t happen till well after lunch, so in our home we call it Symposium. During this family time we cover Bible & Nature Study  or History or Social Studies as a family.

However our Symposium slow loop always starts with Bible. Each kid takes a turn choosing a book from our Bible Basket, however I’ve been letting Pumpkin choose even on days that are not his if he wants to read. He generally wants to and I love that. I share something from my Bible and then we do our Good Confessions and Stretches.

I can still hear my mom calling to me as I walked out the door for school “to have friends you must be friendly” “great is He that is in you then he that is in the world” “you can do all things who strengthen you”. And I would repeat them all back to her. Gosh, I’m so glad she did that!

There is life and death in your confession! And man, I’m 38 years old and my confession can still do with some good schooling.

We have not done much in the way of Bible memory yet, but I do want my kids to know what God says about them and have that hidden in their heart. So I picked out a few of my favorite confessions from God’s Creative Power, wrote them in my Bible and each morning we do some yoga type stretches while we make a good confession.

Putting physical movement to this time really helps keep the attention of my little group of Pastries and helps in the transition to our Nature, History or Social Studies reading after.

Overall this time we have, it is a simple simple simple time! It’s about building healthy habits, strong relationships and warm memories. I’m not trying to create somebody else beautiful morning time in my home, I’m creating our own beautiful morning time.

Leave a Reply

